Saturday, October 14, 2023 - 10am-4pm at Florence Filberg Centre in Downtown Courtenay

Judy LeBlanc


Author headshotJudy LeBlanc is the author of the short story collection, “The Promise of Water,” and the novel, “The Broken Heart of Winter.” Her fiction and personal essays have appeared in numerous literary magazines. She was first place winner of the Sheldon Currie Fiction prize in 2012 and longlisted for the CBC fiction prize that same year. She lives on Vancouver Island on the unceded territory of the Qualicum Nation where she was the founder of the Fat Oyster Reading series.



The Broken Heart of Winter (Historical Fiction
Literary Fiction)

The Promise of Water
Water inundates the lives of the characters in these Vancouver Island stories. A tree cutter, from atop a giant fir overlooking a sweeping ocean view, urinates into his wealthy customer?s flowerbed. A foster child is haunted by the image of a dying seal. A woman in a kayak, troubled by a falling out she?s had with her brother, negotiates ubiquitous rollers off the west coast. In 1923, a woman loses her husband to a coalmine disaster and, a hundred years later, a young mother protests a coalmine just as her estranged husband returns from the oil sands. The ephemeral quality of life, like that of water, is revealed. People die, dreams are shattered, love and redemption are found in letting go.


Judy is based in Fanny Bay, Vancouver Island.


Three generations of Acadian women grapple with the impacts of dislocation, exile, and violence in award-winning writer Judy LeBlanc’s debut novel, The Broken Heart of Winter.


YES. I want In!

Thank you for your interest in attending the Big Island BookFest.

Response has been overwhelming. We are close to capacity so have moved to a Wait List model.

If you would like to be considered for available spaces, please complete this form and we’ll advise as soon as a space comes up.